The Legislative Council


Otago Daily Times

Issue Date

7 May 1918


Julius Vogel & William Cutten






The following apointments to the Legislative Council are announced:-

Ewen William Alison, Auckland

David Thomas Flemming, Balclutha

Alfred Levavasour Durell Fraser, Hastings

George James Garland, Auckland

William John Geddis, Wellington

James Burman Gow, Opotiki

Joseph Grimmond, Ross

Archibald F. Hawke, Invercargill

Charles Hayward Izard, Wellington

Georges Jones, Oamaru

Charles Louisson, Christchurch

Henry Leslie Michel, Hokitika

John Topi Patuki, Puapuke Island

Sir John Robert Sinclair, Dunedin

William Stewart, Kawakawa

George Malcolm Thomson, Dunedin

William Henry Triggs, Christchurch

T.E. Heuheu Tukino, Kakahi

Henry Francis Wigram, Christchurch

Mr G. M. Thomson, F.L.S., was born at Calcutta in 1848, and educated at Edinburgh University. Emigrating to New Zealand as a young man, he first essayed farming but after three years on the land joined the staff of the Dunedin High Schools, and became known as an enthusiastic member of the teaching profession. He was one of the founders of the Dunedin Technical School, of which he was superintendent for 11 years, and has been president of both the Otago and the New Zealand Institute. In 1908 Mr Thomson was returned for Dunedin North, and was re-elected in 1911 but at the 1914 elections he was defeated by Mr A. Walker.





Date Known


George Malcolm Thomson becomes a Member of Parliament, representing the Dunedin, New Zealand North constituency in the House of Representatives. Sources: 2